Alumni Honors & Awards

Science and Technology Hall of Fame

On Friday, October 2, 2015 at 11:30 a.m. in Rea Auditorium Sewickley Academy inducted three alumni into the Science and Technology Hall of Fame.

The Science and Technology Hall of Fame honors alumni who have made significant contributions to the fields of science, medicine, engineering, or technology, as determined by awards, grants, original research, or practical innovation, as acknowledged by experts in their field.
Inductees must have performed significant service to others in the classroom or in the field, work that has greatly enhanced the learning experience for their students or the quality of life for the community benefiting from their efforts.

Sewickley Academy Science and Technology Hall of Fame Inductees

Mark E. Schafer, Ph.D. ’75

In the mid-1980s, Mark Schafer ’75 established what would become the country’s leading independent measurement laboratory for medical ultrasound, working with companies that ranged from startups to multinationals. Over the years, he has worked to advance the application of ultrasound technology to medicine, developing ultrasound devices for: dissolving blood clots in the leg; removing cataracts; non-invasively treating stroke patients; harvesting stem cells; identifying malignant vs benign breast cancer; accelerating wound healing; treating epilepsy and depression; continuously monitoring heart function during surgery; and crushing kidney stones (lithotripsy). His most recent entrepreneurial effort combines ultrasound and light to treat bacterial biofilms, which are responsible for 80 percent of all chronic infections in humans. This will have application to acne, eczema, rhino-sinusitis, and diabetic wounds. He has 22 patents and over 60 research publications. A graduate of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), he earned a M.S. from Penn State, and a Ph. D. in Biomedical Engineering from Drexel University. As a researcher, scholar, and innovator, he is hailed as a leading international expert in ultrasound technology.

Carolee T. Bull ’81, Ph.D.

Dr. Bull is a world leader in research on organic and sustainable crop production, bacterial taxonomy, biological control of plant pathogens, and phytobacteriology. She has worked as a National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich, at the University of Lausanne in Switzerland, and as a USDA Agricultural Research Service (ARS) Postdoctoral Fellow in Fresno, where in addition to her rigorous research program, she made it her goal to make the Salinas Valley (known as the Salad Bowl of the US) as well known for producing outstanding scientists as it is for growing lettuce. Dr. Bull has developed an award-winning mentoring program for undergraduate researchers, many the sons and daughters of field workers. Dr. Bull received the Secretary’s Honor Award (the highest award for service to the nation in agriculture) from the USDA in 2014. Dr. Bull was appointed tenured Professor of Bacterial Systematics and Plant Pathology and Head of the Department of Plant Pathology and Environmental Microbiology at Penn State University in September 2015. She earned her B.S. from Ohio University, M.S. from Washington State University, and Ph.D. from Oregon State University.

Beth Willman, Ph.D. ’94

Beth Willman, Ph. D. ’94, became Deputy Directory of the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST) project in September 2015, where she has been active as a chair of the Stars, Milky Way and Local Volume Science Collaboration. LSST is a billion dollar project being constructed on Cerro Pachon in Chile, and is the highest priority in ground-based astronomy for the United States through the next decade. Prior to that she served as chair of the Astronomy and Physics departments at Haverford College, where she taught for seven years. Both beloved and respected by students, she received the college’s three highest teaching awards. In 2005, as a post-doctoral student at New York University studying galaxy formation and dark matter, she discovered a new ultra-faint galaxy now known as Willman 1. Recipient of numerous National Science Foundation grants for research, she has served as a James Arthur Fellow at the Center for Cosmology and Particle Physics at New York University and a Clay Fellow at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. Dr. Willman earned her B.A. in astrophysics at Columbia University and Ph.D. in astronomy at the University of Washington.

Distinguished Alumni

The Distinguished Alumnus/a Award was created by the Alumni Council in 2001 to honor an alumnus or alumna who has demonstrated the highest standards of achievement, leadership, and service that represent the enduring principles of Sewickley Academy. Their names, along with their photos and mini-biographies, are featured in Nichols-Snyder School Center.

Current Distinguished Alumni
Judge William L. Standish '46
Torie Clarke '77
Lt. Col. Michael Fincke '85
J. Stephen Mikita '74
Dr. James Bower '80

Arts Hall of Fame

The Arts Hall of Fame is a society reserved for Sewickley Academy alumni and former faculty who have distinguished themselves in the visual or performing arts at Sewickley Academy and have gone on to further distinction in higher education and beyond. Click here for criteria to be considered for the Arts Hall of Fame.

2014 Arts Hall of Fame Inductees
Madeline Lord '66
Mario Melodia
Judith Mikita '76
John Moyer '82

2009 Arts Hall of Fame Inductees
James K. Caruso '76
Katherine Clarke '70
Gregory P. Nicotero '81
Anna P. Singer '76
Garner Tullis '55

Sports Hall of Fame

The Sports Hall of Fame recognizes those athletes or coaches who have distinguished themselves in athletics at the Academy and have gone on to further distinction in college and beyond, including national recognition, becoming an All-American, or reaching significant milestones on a top-ranked college team. The athlete must exemplify the best qualities of sportsmanship and character in accordance with the enduring principles of Sewickley Academy. Click here for criteria to be considered for the Sports Hall of Fame.

Sports Hall of Fame Inductees
Timothy P. Appleton '73
Maury Brassert '49
Corey Diethorn '04
W. Ridgely Diven '67
Kate Dresher
Scott F. Fetterolf '76
Maria A. Gaydos '84
David Gibson '58
Shelly Harris '96
Timothy C. Hastings '77
Christiana Hays '70
Tamara Hoch '03
Tommy Kehoe '04
Hal Partenheimer '74
Timothy D. Kaiser '91
Stanwood Partenheimer
Steven M. Partenheimer '68
Ben Powers '89
Joan Schenerlein
Carol Semple Thompson '66
G. Whitney Snyder, Jr. '79
1997 PIAA Championship Boys Basketball Team

Call for Nominations

Members of the Sewickley Academy community are invited to submit nominations for the Distinguished Alumni award, the Arts Hall of Fame, the Science & Technology Hall of Fame, and the Sports Hall of Fame. Awards in each category are made every four years, and winners are honored each October during Reunion Weekend. Submit your nomination.

2018 - Arts Hall of Fame

Contact Us

List of 2 items.

Visit Us!

Main Campus

Sewickley Academy
315 Academy Avenue
Sewickley, PA 15143
Sewickley Academy is a nationally recognized Pittsburgh private school enrolling students in Pre-K through Grade 12 on a single campus.