2021 Sports Hall of Fame Induction

At a full school assembly on Friday, October 8, 2021, alumni Jason Linkes ’94 and George Raftis ’05 were inducted into the Sewickley Academy Sports Hall of Fame. Unable to attend the induction, alumna basketball star Katarina Lackner ‘05 will be deferred until the next ceremony in 2025.

Baseball teammate and friend Eric Goldstein ’94 introduced Jason Linkes ’94 with praise and affection. Jason was a terrific all-around baseball player during his years at SA, recognized in the 1994 WPIAL all-Section Team (third base), and as one of the Top 20 in Batting Averages (.542) and RBI’s (26). He went on to play for St. Leo’s College (D II) where he was inducted into their Hall of Fame, ranking in the Top 5 for Career Home Runs and Top 10 Career Batting Averages in university history.

Basketball teammate and friend Derek Chimner ’04 introduced George Raftis ’05 with anecdotes and praise for George’s performance on the court. George was named Sewickley Academy’s Best Male Athlete in 2005 where he was named to the 2005 All-State team, and in 2004 was a major factor in the team’s WPIAL Championship and 2004 State Runner-up accomplishments on the court. George went on to play at Allegheny College (D III) where his record made him 2nd All-Time in Career Rebounds (747), 3rd All Time Career Field Goal Percentage (53.6%) and 5th All-Time Career Points (1,294). In 2008, 2009, and 2010 he served as team captain and was named MVP.

Both inductees gave inspirational acceptance speeches and thanked their SA coaches for providing them with such a solid foundation in skills and leadership.

Four former Sports Hall of Fame inductees in attendance were recognized for their achievements as well: Tim Appleton ’73 (basketball), Christi Hays ’70 (tennis, paddle tennis), Whitney Snyder ’79 (tennis, golf), and Carol (Semple ’66) Thompson (golf). 

List of 1 items.

  • George Raftis '05

    Allegheny College - Division III
    1,294 Career Points - 5th All Time
    746 Career Rebounds - 2nd All Time
    53.6% Career Field Goal Percentage - 3rd All Time
    Team Captain 2008-2010
    2010 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All Star Team
    2010 NABC 2nd Team All-Great Lakes Region
    2009, 2010 1st Team All-North Coast Athletic Conference
    2008 2nd Team All-North Coast Athletic Conference
    2008, 2009, 2010 Team MVP
    Sewickley Academy Best Male Athlete 2005
    2005 All-State Team
    2004 WPIAL Champion; 2004 State Runner-up

List of 1 items.

  • Jason Linkes '94

    Saint Leo College – Division II
    2014 Saint Leo University Hall of Fame
    Top 10 Career Batting Average & Top 5 Career Home Runs
    1998, 1999 American Baseball Coaches Association All-South 1st Team
    1999 Baseball America Pre-Season All – American Team
    1999 – NCAA Division II Super regional All-Playoff Team (1st Base)
    1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999 Sunshine State Conference All-Academic Team
    Sewickley Academy
    1993, 1994 Co-Most Valuable Player
    .451 Career Batting Average
    1994 WPIAL Top 20 in Batting Average (.542) and RBI’s (26)
    1993, 1994 Team Leader in 9 Offensive Categories
    1994 North Hills News Record All-North Team
    1994 WPIAL All-Section Team (3rd Base)

Sports Hall of Fame Criteria

Sports Hall of Fame inductees may be Sewickley Academy alumni athletes or Sewickley Academy coaches/athletic directors.

The athlete must have distinguished himself/herself in athletics at Sewickley Academy and must have gone on to further distinction in college or beyond. Those achievements should include national recognition in college, including becoming an All American or reaching significant milestones on a college team that is one of the top teams ranked nationally in their division.

Eligible coaches must be from those who have served the Academy for a minimum of seven years and who have been outstanding in their commitment to the development of fine athletes to represent the school.

Candidates’ credentials for the Hall of Fame will be reviewed by a committee that includes the Head of School, the Athletic Director, and the Alumni Relations personnel in consultation with coaches past and present, and alumni whose input may be appropriate to particular situations.

All inductees must exemplify the best qualities of character and sportsmanship in accordance with the enduring principles of Sewickley Academy.


Sports Hall of Fame Inductees
Timothy P. Appleton '73
Maury Brassert '49
Corey Diethorn '04
W. Ridgely Diven '67
Kate Dresher
Scott F. Fetterolf '76
Sarah (Grenert '00) Funk
Maria A. Gaydos '84
David Gibson '58
Shelly Harris '96
Timothy C. Hastings '77
Christiana Hays '70
Tamara Hoch '03
Gloria Lozano '00
Timothy D. Kaiser '91
Tommy Kehoe '04
Jason Linkes ’94 
Hal Partenheimer '74
Stanwood Partenheimer
Steven M. Partenheimer '68
Ben Powers '89
George Raftis ’05
Joan Schenerlein
Carol Semple Thompson '66
G. Whitney Snyder, Jr. '79
1997 PIAA Championship Boys Basketball Team

List of 1 items.

  • Stay Connected!