Eight Seniors Named as Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation

Milla Dobrovolska-Ivanova, Rebecca Glass, Brooke Kries, Brendan Ohr, Rohan Shah, Aysu Turkay, Marissa Wang, and Madeleine Wren were named to the list of 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students.
The National Merit Scholarship Program recognized eight seniors from Sewickley Academy for their exceptional academic promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

Approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation were recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2022 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2022 competition.

"Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," commented a spokesperson for the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. "These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."